Federal electoral boundary commission for Ontario completes its report and keeps local boundaries intact

GEORGETOWN – Michael Chong, Member of Parliament for Wellington–Halton Hills, today congratulated the Federal Redistribution Commission for Ontario on completing their final report on Ontario’s electoral boundaries. Chong also thanked all of the individuals who participated in the process by submitting their thoughtful input to the Commission.

“These individual citizens who provided their input are to be thanked for assisting the Commission with its work,” Chong said.

Every ten years, after the census is conducted, the number of electoral districts and their boundaries are revised in each province and territory to reflect changes in the size of the population.

During the review, Ontario’s Commission considered a number of options for Ontario’s electoral boundaries. In its final report released today, the Commission determined that the riding of Wellington-Halton Hills will remain unchanged.

“I applaud the Commission for completing this report and for listening to the input from local residents,” said Chong. “I will continue to serve the people of Halton Hills and Wellington County in Canada’s national Parliament. I look forward to seeking re-election and continuing to serve.”

The boundaries of several other electoral districts in Ontario have changed as a result of the Commission’s report, and Ontario will now have 121 ridings to reflect the increase in the provincial population.

Wellington-Halton Hill encompasses the Towns of Halton Hills and Erin, as well as the Townships of Centre Wellington, Guelph/Eramosa and Puslinch. Details about the new federal boundaries within the province are available at www.redistribution.ca.